Empreza 2023: Nurturing Leadership and Life Skills Through Innovative Learning at ITUM

November 23, 9:00 am

ITUM Premises


ITUM Premises

The Semester II students of the Textile, Chemical and Polymer, Civil Engineering Technology, and Maritime Studies Divisions of the Institute of Technology, University of Moratuwa (ITUM), organized the "EMPREZA 2023" leadership event series on the 23rd of November 2023 at the university premises as their final project for the IS1205 Sports Studies module.

The event was conducted to provide real-world, intensive learning opportunities outside of traditional educational environments. True learning occurs when students are motivated, involved, and actively engaged in their educational process, which is immensely beneficial.

Through "EMPREZA," students have the opportunity to develop not only their academic knowledge but also crucial life skills. The event serves as a platform for enhancing leadership skills, fostering teamwork, and nurturing personal attributes. Participants engage in practical scenarios that challenge them to think critically, communicate effectively, and make decisions under pressure—skills that extend beyond the confines of the classroom.

The event was attended by the Director of ITUM, Major General (Rtd.) S. K. Thirunavukarasu RSP VSV USP, BoM member of ITUM, Mr. G G Jayarathne, Heads of the Academic and Administrative Divisions, and academic and non-academic staff members.

Immense support for the event was provided by the Head of the Division of Interdisciplinary Studies, Dr. (Mrs.) D.D.G.A.D.S. Saparamadu, and staff members of the Interdisciplinary Division, while the financial support for the event was granted by ITUM. The concept of the leadership event series was given and guided by Ms. Shalini Dissanayake, the Lecturer in charge of sports studies, and supported by dedicated sports instructors Mr. Sidath Rasnayake, Mr. Champika Prageeth, and Mr. S.M. Safraan.

The final championship of the event was won by team Team Patro, and the 1st runner-up and 2nd runner-up were Team Bravo and Mora Goal Getters.